I don’t know how she does it!

I seriously don’t know how these design ladies do it – day to day, creating fabulousness while raising a family.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 7.24.56 AM
Designer Windsor Smith and family

They must have a team of helpers. Childcare, laundry, meals, kids’ activities, vacuuming. How do they get it all get done while they work full time designing? During the school year, I am able to make it work without much outside help. We may have to get a babysitter for an hour, but that’s usually about it.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 7.15.24 AM
Designer Celerie Kemble and family

Once school is out, it gets a bit more difficult. We had to get the boys in camps all summer. We got through most of the summer ok. It worked out until this past week. My husband is a photographer and  has a pretty flexible schedule, which is super helpful over the summer.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 7.30.42 AM
Designer/blogger India Hicks and family

We’ve been able to make it work between my schedule and his. Camp is expensive, so we would alternate full day camps and half day camps (which are much cheaper). It worked out with our schedules until this past week.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 8.00.18 AM
Blogger/designer/shop owner Brooke Gianetti

The boys were in full day camp for two weeks prior to this, and we had them in half day golf camp this week. We’ve been able to wing it all summer, because usually when Parker has to be on site for a job, he doesn’t have to be there until mid morning, and he is usually done mid afternoon. If the boys happen to be in a half day camp, we would find a babysitter for a couple of hours until I come home at 3:30. Well, this past week, Parker was booked solid all day. He’s been working for Jaipur for years, and they are in catalog production mode right now, so he’s been working with them from 9-5 every day.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 7.56.53 AM
blogger/HGTV star Joanna Gaines

Our main problem was that golf camp didn’t start until 8:45 am, and ends at 12:30pm. Parker had to leave the house at 8:30am, and I leave at 6:30am. So what to do with the boys in the morning??? I had to ask my boss if I could work from home in the mornings so I could be home with the boys until it was time to bring them to camp. Thankfully he said yes. I don’t get home until 3:30, so we had to cobble together a group of babysitters who could pick up the boys each day and keep them busy until I got home. Did I mention that we had a French exchange student staying at our house at the same time? (Am I crazy? No, actually, it was fun!)

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 7.54.42 AM
Blogger/designer/author Lauren Leiss

Working full time with kids can be really challenging at times. I wonder how top designer moms do it?

2 thoughts on “I don’t know how she does it!

Leave a Reply

