India Necklace

I recently had a birthday, and had a really hard time thinking of anything I wanted from my husband. My parents get me a gift every year, and I just asked them for my perfume (Estee Lauder Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia) since I was about out. That’s really all I could think of that I wanted.

I’m not the kind of person who expects my husband to read my mind and “surprise” me with the perfect gift. I usually just find what I want and tell him. Not very romantic, but I always get the perfect gift!  😉

Lately I’ve been wanting to get rid of stuff – I’ve got a tall laundry hamper in my garage that I use to hold stuff that needs to be donated. When it’s full, I take a trip to Goodwill. I’ve been feeling lately that I don’t want to bring any more stuff into the house. It’s hard enough keeping the house somewhat uncluttered with three boys and ten of their friends in my house everyday.

I just wasn’t feeling like I really wanted or needed anything for my birthday this year. We had a nice birthday dinner out, and I thought maybe that was enough this year until I saw this:

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 5.13.02 AM

My neighbor is a jewelry designer and I saw this necklace pop up in my Facebook feed, and I had to have it! I love big chunky necklaces, but I don’t really have any that are long. I love that this one has the textural interest of the tassel – it’s so cute!

Look who also is wearing the India necklace:

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 5.17.31 AM

None other than India Hicks, daughter of designer David Hicks, who was the interior designer of the 1960s. When he married Lady Pamela Mountabatten in 1960, he became the decorator for English and Saudi Arabian royalty and American titans of industry.

His Hexagon wallpaper from Cole & Son has become a classic:

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 5.35.48 AM

Here is socialite and Vogue editor Lauren Santo Domingo at home (David Hicks’ wallpaper in the background):

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 5.43.48 AM

India has a blog chronicling her life in the Bahamas. I first heard of India Hicks when I saw her lotion at Crabtree and Evelyn in the 90s. The next time I heard of her was when she introduced her line of tunics. She is also well known for her initial jewelry line:

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 4.22.26 PM

It looks like they are not being sold anymore – they aren’t anywhere on the site.

I’ve been reading India’s blog for awhile. It’s fun to get a glimpse into her life – one post tells about having to bring their parrot to the vet by boat and then the next one tells of her going to either New York or London to be interviewed about being in a royal wedding. For such a glamorous life, she seems very down to earth. Check out her blog for a fun read!

 

2 thoughts on “India Necklace

  1. It is the perfect birthday gift. I love the tassel and of course, India Hicks can do no wrong…adore the way she’s wearing the necklace mixed with others…perfection! Happy belated birthday!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

