My house is painted!

My house is painted, and I love it!  I’ve been wanting to get the brick painted for years, and I’m so happy that we’ve finally done it. To me, it makes the house feel so updated and fresh.

The brick is Benjamin Moore OC-30 Gray Mist matte. The top of the gutters and the shutters are Sherwin Williams Black Fox 7020. The trim and gutters are a 75% strength formulation of the Gray Mist in a satin. The front door (my favorite!) is Benjamin Moore 459 Woodland Green in satin.

 

 

IMG_0043

We moved the existing sconces to the back door, and now we need to get new ones. With the refreshed exterior, our old house numbers looked tired, so we need to get new ones. Oh, and a new door bell and welcome mat. It goes that way when you update something doesn’t it? Everything else needs updating too!

Our landscaping up against the house is looking a little sad too. This spring, we took out a bunch of scraggly boxwoods that probably have been in the ground since the house was built in 1963. You can’t plant shrubs here in the summer – it’s just too darn hot, so we have to wait until it cools down. I want to put a bunch of azaleas that grow to about 2 feet tall at the foundation. I don’t have the time for gardening, so I like having flowering bushes and trees to add color.

Here are some of my favorite lanterns that are in my budget. All of them can be found at Masterpiece Lighting. Click on the images to link to individual information and pricing.

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.55.55 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.56.46 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.57.19 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.57.58 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.58.33 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 5.59.51 PM

My favorites are the first one and the fifth one. It’s going to be a hard decision to choose one!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My house is painted!

    1. Thank you so much! I did love our natural brick. It was reclaimed, we think from old factories. I’ve been collecting pictures of painted brick for years – I just love how it looks. We finally decided to do it, and I’m really happy with it. Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

