Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving. We hosted as we do every year. My parents and Parker’s cousin and his family came over for dinner. Parker cooked a 21 pound turkey that came out super juicy. We stick to a pretty traditional menu – stuffing, green beans, mashed potatoes and corn casserole (the boys’ favorite – Parker’s cousin makes it every year).

My job was to get the house cleaned up and set the table. Fortunately, we keep the house about as orderly you can when three boys are off school all week, so cleaning wasn’t so bad. Setting the table was the fun part. Since our kitchen table only seats six, we set up a card table for the kids.

The kids ate on my Lenox Pearl Gold china. I only have the lunch plates which is a good size for kids. It’s a really pretty china that’s been discontinued.

Lenox Pearl Gold

 

For the adults, I set the table with my Deshouliers china. I’m still collecting it- I almost have enough dinner and salad plates for 12. I also used my silver flatware and cut glass wine glasses. Don’t look at the wrinkles in the tablecloth. I should’ve ironed it, but oh well!

IMG_0188

I decided to run with a gold theme. Those chargers came from Target. I don’t know where Mr. Turkey came from, maybe Williams Sonoma? I have a red one just like him that was at the kids’ table. The candles are in Mason jars that a neighbor gave me. It was fun to bring out the good stuff – it was very festive!

 

After dinner my brother and his family and his in-laws came over for dessert. Afterwards we took the kids to see the light show at a neighbor’s house. It is really awesome. The lights are synchronized to music – he has about seven or eight different songs that play. It takes my neighbor all of October and November to put up all the lights so that he can have the first show on Thanksgiving. People come from all over the city to see it – it’s crazy.

Christmas House

The kids love it – we have to stay and see all of the show. It’s a really fun way to get in the Christmas spirit! We are going to get our tree today and decorate our house. Aren’t the holidays so much fun?

Christmas house 2

Leave a Reply

