Painting and Printmaking

This past week, we had the inside of our house painted. It it so nice to walk into a freshly painted house! When we first got our house, we had to have everything painted. The whole inside was this dingy beige  – walls, ceiling and trim! And, it looked like it had been painted in the 1980s and never been touched up! Parker had the idea that he would paint everything himself. He’s such a perfectionist, it took him a week of evenings to paint our bedroom (not including the trim!) And, it’s not a big room.

So, instead of taking months to paint the house, we paid a crew to paint the trim, walls and ceilings throughout the house. We didn’t have enough in our budget to paint the doors, so we waited on those. A few months later, we were ready to get the doors painted. I got up first thing in the morning, went to Benjamin Moore to get 5 gallons of White Dove in semi-gloss oil paint. Since oil based paint is really smelly, we didn’t stick around while the guys painted. Imagine my shock when I came home and saw that the doors and trim were different whites!

All the trim was right – it was White Dove. The doors; however, were a darker, warmer white! To me, it looked like Navajo White. I remembered that the guy who mixed my paint that morning was a teenager that looked like he had just rolled out of bed. Obviously, he didn’t pay attention to which formula he was mixing. Argggh!!!!! And we did not have the dinero to buy more paint and pay the painters to redo the job. So, I’ve been living with mismatched doors for far too long than I’ve liked. It’s been such a pleasure to see my doors and the trim freshly painted in White Dove.

We also had our bathrooms, the boys’ bedroom and the master walls and ceilings painted. The boys got a fresh coat of Palladian Blue on their walls and I changed the master bed and bath to Revere Pewter. I love the Revere Pewter a lot – colors really pop against it.

I haven’t put anything up on the walls yet. I’m rethinking what we put up, and I want to take my time rather than just eyeballing it and throwing it up on the wall. We like having original artwork around the house. We collect Duane Keiser – I’ve got four of his Oddment paintings so far.

He recently put a painting of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich up for auction on ebay, and I was soooo tempted to get it! I hope he’ll paint another one next year – maybe I’ll put some of my decorating money savings into getting a painting?

s-l225

 

 

The latest piece of art we purchased was a linocut print by an artist we saw at one of the Atlanta Arts festivals. The artist was at her booth, and she was cutting a new block of linoleum while people looked at her prints. It was fun to see an artist working! Her name is Nicola Barsaleu – she grew up in South Africa and studied printmaking in England. She currently lives in Florida.

Her work is so graphic and well drawn, we had to get a print. This is the one we got:

8893787_orig

 

Doesn’t it look good on the wall?

IMG_0355

Leave a Reply

