Is the coming new year making you want to refresh your home?

Merry Christmas! We had a wonderful day yesterday – we had a quiet morning with the boys. We don’t go crazy with gifts. This year, each boy got three gifts and a stocking full of fun things like whoopee cushions. Actually, let me amend the quiet part – we heard the sound of rubber farts all day. It cracked them up on the way to church, no less. My middle son is very good at make the whoopee cushion farts sound juicy. Boys!

The younger ones got little RC “drones” that they’ve been playing with constantly. My oldest son got a new e-ink display Kindle. I like the Kindle Fire, but I think he would constantly be on the internet, which is not cool with me. His kindle does go on the internet, but it’s just a black and white display – you can’t do much with it, which is fine with me!

After lunch, we went over to my brother’s house to celebrate with his family and my parents. Poor Parker was sick with a stomach bug, so he spent the afternoon in bed. He’s all better now, fortunately it was a quick bug. My brother has three girls under 6. They are very sweet and girly, and their house had an army of Barbies and American Girls that had taken over! It’s fun to be around girly girls – it’s so different than being with boys who want to battle with Nerf guns all day!

Today I got the most recent Ballard Designs catalog in the mail, and it has some really cute things. Isn’t this gorgeous? I loves me some animal prints! I would love to have one or two of these in my family room.xbench

 

Getting my house painted last week has given me the itch to update my bedroom. Since we changed our wall color from pink to Benjamin Moore Revere Pewter (a warm gray), I’m thinking that I’d like to bring some dark blue into my bedroom. I’d love to re-cover my headboard  and get a bedskirt made in a blue fabric like this:

 

headboard

Isn’t this ikat pretty?

bedskirt

 

A pair of these end tables would be nice, and there’s lots of storage which is a bonus. I like this soft gray color. I think it would be pretty with the blue fabric.

Sidney side table

A pair of these glam lamps would spice things up! I like their retro Palm Beach look. I also like how the pattern is graphic  – it’s a nice contrast to the ikat pattern.

Estelle table lamp

 

Here is a great example of a headboard and bedskirt in the same fabric. This is Aerin Lauder’s East Hampton bedroom – isn’t it gorgeous? I first saw this room when Lauder’s house was featured in now defunct House & Garden in December 2007. It still looks great to me – it just shows that great taste stands the test of time.

 

apt-with-lsd-aerin-lauder-18_183257757691

Wouldn’t you be happy sleeping here?

2 thoughts on “Is the coming new year making you want to refresh your home?

Leave a Reply

