Indigo is the New Black

Indigo has been a trend in fashion for a while now.

I love these gorgeous dresses by Valentino that look like they were inspired by blue and white porcelain. Mark Sikes discussed the blue and white trend in fashion in 2013.

valentino blue and whitevalentino blue and white4valentino blue and white3valentino blue and white5valentino blue and white6valentino blue and white2valentino blue2

Fashion has an incredible effect on trends in decorating. Blue and white has been going strong in fashion and interior design for several years, especially in textiles and my beloved blue and white porcelain.

Do you remember the scene in “The Devil Wears Prada,” where the Anna Wintour character lays into her assistant?

“…This… ’stuff’? I see, you think this has nothing to do with you. You go to your closet and you select out, oh I don’t know, that lumpy blue sweater, for instance, because you’re trying to tell the world that you take yourself too seriously to care about what you put on your back. But what you don’t know is that that sweater is not just blue, it’s not turquoise, it’s not lapis, it’s actually cerulean. You’re also blithely unaware of the fact that in 2002, Oscar de la Renta did a collection of cerulean gowns. And then I think it was Yves St Laurent, wasn’t it, who showed cerulean military jackets? …And then cerulean quickly showed up in the collections of 8 different designers. Then it filtered down through the department stores and then trickled on down into some tragic casual corner where you, no doubt, fished it out of some clearance bin. However, that blue represents millions of dollars and countless jobs and so it’s sort of comical how you think that you’ve made a choice that exempts you from the fashion industry when, in fact, you’re wearing the sweater that was selected for you by the people in this room. From a pile of stuff.”

― Lauren Weisberger, The Devil Wears Prada

 

I feel like home decor is influenced by fashion; however, I feel like indigo/navy is one of those colors that is just timeless. It’s nice to see it embraced by fashion, but I think this is one of the rare times that fashion is not dictating the popularity of this color.

John Robshaw is known for his hand blocked Asian and Indian inspired fabrics. He has some gorgeous blue and white or almost white fabrics. Love the elephants on this cute ottoman. Isn’t the pattern charming. I have a soft spot for elephants – I love this fabric!

johnrobshawottomanindigo

 

The fabric on this settee is one of my favorites from John Robshaw. I’ve had a swatch of it for about four years now. I’m determined to use it somewhere!johnrobshawsetteindigo

I love the fabric on the headboard here. Love the exotic shape of it too!

johnrobshawindigobedding

 

 

An easy and more cost effective way to bring indigo into your home is with pillows.

johnrobshawindigopillow3johnrobshawindigopillow2JohnRobshawindigopillow

 

When I think of blue and American decorating, I immediately think of Michael S. Smith. He uses lots of blue fabrics and blue and white tiles. I LOVE the hand painted wallpaper in this dining room (I’m assuming it’s wallpaper and not a mural – I don’t know for sure) mixed with the blue and white porcelain and fabric. So elegant!

 

michaelssmithblueandwhite

Smith often uses Portuguese tile. So pretty and west coast in feel. Just love it! He’s designed homes for Cindy Crawford and redesigned the White House.

michael s smith portuguese tiles

 

Michael-Smith-Elle-Decor-Feb-Mar-1999-21-490x305

 

Blue is moving into the kitchen now. I think trends start earlier in fashion and fabrics because it is much easier to change out a pillow than kitchen cabinets. I’ve loved gray for a while, but dark blue is looking so fresh to me now. Gray is here to stay, but I think indigo is the new black – it has the visual weight of black, but it feels fresher.

 

This to me this is the perfect indigo for an island. I like how it works with the gray cabinets. For me personally with the floors, I’d rather have hardwood than the light tile. That’s just a personal preference.

 

Again, love the blue, the floors, not so much. I’d love to see hardwoods here.

 

This is a pretty lighter blue. This feels very coastal.

 

This blue is right on – love the brass and open shelving. Wish the pendants were bigger – they are very cute, though.

 

 

I like how this blue has a slight green undertone. It looks pretty with the white uppers.

 

Yup – great blue.  Wouldn’t mind the uppers being in white.

 

Indigo married with the moroccan tile trend AND brass – too sexy!

 

Can you trade in your black or gray for indigo?

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Indigo is the New Black

    1. Hi Karianne – aren’t those dresses gorgeous!!!! My love of blue and white has only grown over the years. I still kick myself over a full set of blue and white dishes that I gave away because “food looks better on white!” I keep looking for them at Goodwill in hopes I can get them back!

      Like

Leave a Reply

