Palm Beach Preppy

Do you have a morning routine? Every morning I get up by 5:45 a.m. The first thing I do is brush my teeth and then make some coffee. Then I usually make the boys’ lunches (I really should do them the night before – I need to get more organized!) and then get ready for work. Every day, Parker gets up and makes my breakfast while I get ready. Isn’t that sweet?

I like to start my day taking a little time reading about current events and design. I love these quiet moments at the beginning of the day when I am drinking hot coffee – no sugar and lots of half and half. Lately, it’s starting to get warm here (it was 85 degrees today!!!!) so I’ll be switching to iced coffee soon.

Today I woke up at 4:00 a.m. and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I got a little more quiet reading time. I have my favorite blogs that I read regularly – The Pink Clutch is a new addition to my reading list that I discovered when author Paige Minear gave a talk at ADAC on color.

A recent post by Paige is about her trip to Palm Beach, which has got to be the preppy capital of the world. I’ve never been there, but when I think Palm Beach, I think Lilly Pulitzer, Celerie Kemble and Bonanno sandals. Most people think of Jack Rogers sandals first, but Bonanno’s are the original. There is a good post about it here.

Palm Beach also makes me think of tropical landscapes, which of course, include palms. Here is Nate Berkus’ living room covered in the iconic Beverly Hills Hotel Martinique Palm Leaf wallpaper. I love the lush tropical feel of this room.

green-tropical-leaf-wall-covering

 

Here is Dorothy Draper’s earlier version of this print:

 

brazillance1

 

Carlton Varney Brazilliance mar-a_largo_chair_1

 

Carlton Varney’s refresh of Palm Beach’s The Colony lobby:

 

Carlton Varney ColonyHotel_Lobby_Best

 

When it’s in the 80s with blue skies and the azaleas popping, I’m starting to feel like trading in my boots and knit ponchos for these.

 

Palm_beach_classic_sandals_stephen_bonanno_jack_rogers_shell_white_buggy_designs__60510.1398877118.420.420

Rickshaw Design Booti Nantucket Red

 

Wouldn’t you love to sit outside with a drink in the evening here? I love Celerie Kemble’s work! It’s so fresh and cheerful. Love the green print fabric.

 

Celerie Kemble photo+1

 

Love this tropical bedroom by Celerie Kemble.

 

Celerie Kemble photo+2

 

Are you feeling spring fever too?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Palm Beach Preppy

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by! The weather has been so great, I’ve got blooms everywhere – the redbuds, forsythia, camellias and quince are all in bloom. We are supposed to get some cold weather early next week – I hope it doesn’t get so cold that we lose the pretty flowers!

      Btw – I love NC! We go often to Western NC, esp. Cashiers and Highlands!

      Like

Leave a Reply

