Lavender – I never dreamed I would like it so much!

We hosted Easter dinner for my parents and my brother and his girls (my sister-in-law had to work, boo!). I set the table with my favorite china and a little bunny vase I picked up at Goodwill. I filled it with hyacinths I got at TJ’s and then I put little blue and white covered dishes on either side of the bunny vase.

As I was eating dinner, I was struck at how great the lavender of the hyacinth looked with the blue and white. (I also love blue and purple hydrangeas in a blue and white vase.) I’ve never been a huge fan of purple in decor, but I am warming up to the idea of a soft grayed down lavender. It looks especially pretty with a dark blue like in this London apartment:

 

02-The-Connaught-Apartment

 

I’m so looking forward to hydrangea season – I hope we have a better year than we did last year! My hydrangeas barely bloomed at all and the blooms I got were green and purple! Here are some pretty blue and purple hydrangeas in the same London home. I like how the designer mixed blues and purples in this chair. Do you think nature was an inspiration?

 

08-The-Connaught-Apartment

 

Here’s an edgier mixing of blue and lavender by Ruthie Sommers. The purple walls are so dark they are almost black. I love the acid green against it!

 

540f58e1e746e_-_ver-ruthie-sommers-design-4

 

Isn’t this lavender paper by de Gournay gorgeous?

 

De Gournay lavendar

 

Here is a lavender dining room. It’s so pretty and feminine. I like how the overall feel is a creamy white with pops of lavender. The color is an accent here and not overwhelming.

 

540f5c05d5c47_-_01-mccarthy-dining-room-edit-de

 

LOVE the blue and white mixed with pops of purple here. This makes me want to like straight up purple, which I’m usually not a fan of in decor. This is so pretty!

 

540f56bf099b7_-_ver-kelli-ford-southampton-house-03

 

Here’s a NYC living room by one of my favorite designers, Ashley Whittaker. I love how she mixed different tones of lavender. Notice how the wallpaper in the entry reads as purple even though it is a pattern. Ashley Whittaker is so great with color.

 

ashley wittaker lavendar

 

And a living room in the Hampton’s home of my favorite tastemaker, Aerin Lauder. LOVE the lavender walls with the blue and white. Spot on – so elegant and fresh. Yum!

 

Aerin Lauder Lavendar Living Room

 

So what do you think about lavender, could you use it in your home?

4 thoughts on “Lavender – I never dreamed I would like it so much!

  1. I’m with you. I never would have thought to use lavender in interiors, but I am most certainly warming up to it, particularly with gray. I did my own post exploring the lavender color, too. Still am not sure that I would use it in my home.

    Like

    1. I understand your hesitation. I almost feel like it is a color reserved for larger homes. I love it, but I can’t see using it in my home. I’ve been in a multi-million dollar mansion where it was used as wall color and it was gorgeous. Hmmm…I’m interested in exploring when lavender works!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

