Black and blue and white all over

Recently, a neighbor needed help with her kitchen renovation, so I’ve been designing her kitchen with her. She really likes the idea of a blue island with white counters and white cabinets with black counters for the perimeter cabinets. Here is one of our inspiration pictures. Aren’t those pendants pretty?

 

 

Black and blue has been big in fashion for awhile and now it’s showing up in design. I love the clean lines of the cabinets in this more contemporary kitchen. The blue of this island coordinates really well with the black counters on the perimeter cabinets. I love the black pendants. I also really like how the island is on legs – it makes it feel lighter.

 

 

I really like the deep indigo of this island. It’s almost black, but just blue enough to be different than the black counters. For me personally, I feel like these pendants are a bit too small. I’m really into large-scale pendants right now.

 

 

This is my favorite of the black and blue and white kitchens. The blue is just perfect. The pendants are so beautiful – I just love them! My client does not want hardwoods in the kitchen, so we are installing tile. She has selected a slate, so that is a color we are going to have to work with. I feel like hardwoods are more of a neutral, so we are going to have to make sure the blue of the island works with the slate.

 

 

Here’s what we have selected so far:

 

Perimeter cabinets will be white shaker with a Leathered Black Pearl granite counter. The island will be a blue color with Caesarstone Frosty Carrina counters.

 

5141-l

 

The floor will be a 12×24 slate tile called Squall.

Squall-12x24-USE

Squall is so pretty in person. It’s an even gray with no orange. I just love the way it looks. I’ve used it and it’s darker cousin Black Blizzard. I really love the way natural stone looks. And, believe it or not, it’s not terribly expensive – right now it’s at about $7 a square foot retail. It’s not Home Depot prices, but for natural stone, it’s very reasonable.

 

This is the drum shade pendant we are considering for over the table:

 

drum shade pendant

 

 

Here are the Circa Lighting pendants we probably will do over the island. LOVE these!

 

katie pendant                                                                katie pendant

 

 

Do you think you could mix blue and black in your kitchen?

3 thoughts on “Black and blue and white all over

  1. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted a red and black kitchen. But lately, I’m finding myself dreaming of a white, black, and blue kitchen. Hope we get to see what your neighbor’s kitchen looks like when it’s done!

    Like

    1. We are meeting this Saturday to pick the color of her cabinets and walls. Since she is going with slate floors instead of hardwoods, the color of the slate will be a big factor in what color blue she can go with. I’ll post pictures as we make progress. Right now, the kitchen is torn down to the studs, so there is not much to look at!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

