Painted Brick

I just love a painted brick house – it looks so fresh and cheerful. My favorite color for painted brick is a soft grayish white – that’s what I painted my house. If you are thinking about painting your brick, here are some gorgeous inspiration photos.

 

I love the painted brick on this one. Often I like unpainted brick on classic two story houses, but this house would not have been as charming, and I don’t think the Chinese Chippendale railing would look good against red brick. I love how the little “roofs” of the bay windows look sort of like a pagoda. Cute!

 

1930s Colonial

 

 

Here is a nice example of a contemporary home. I like how the white is a soft white – the texture of the brick and the softness of the paint color are nice against all of the straight lines. Don’t know if I’d like living with all of those huge uncovered windows – kind of like living in a fish bowl! Maybe they have a really long front yard and lots of tall bushes out front?

 

 

Williamstown

 

 

This house is so charming. I love how the brick and the trim are the same color. It’s like a clean-lined version of an English cottage. I like everything about this house: the pitch of the roof, he porte cochere, the front entry and the arched front door. So charming – I’d move into this house tomorrow!

 

 

Majestic Oaks Residence

 

Here’s a more formal house. Or should I say “manse?” This looks pretty big!!! I love the black of the windows against the soft white of the brick. About the only thing I would change is the front door. It feels like it needs something more solid there.

 

Symphony Design Home

 

Another charming stripped down cottage. I say cottage meaning style – this house definitely ain’t little. It’s probably more than double the size of my house! I like the details like the dovecote over the upper window on the left. I also like the color of the trim against the white brick. It’s hard to tell whether it’s gray or a sage green. Either way, it’s pretty. Love the copper downspouts, too!

 

Cotswold House Exterior

 

I’m pretty sure this is a poolhouse – isn’t it fabulous?  Love the dark of the doors and window against the brick. Also LOVE the orange and white stripes on the chairs – isn’t it fun? Doesn’t this look like a place that Slim Aarons would have photographed?

 

Torrey Pines

 

Here’s a good example of a more creamy white-ish color on the brick. It’s darker than I personally like, but it still looks good. I like how the cream unifies the different materials used on the body of the house. The bump out to the right has different materials than the front of the dormer window above the roofline. If these were different colors, it would be too much. This is one where I think it would look better if the corbels and shutters were lighter – they feel a bit heavy now. The windows could stay dark, though.

 

Buckhead

 

Here’s a sharp example of modern white brick. I love how clean this is. The brick really warms it up. So pretty.

 

Brisbane Street House

 

Here’s a stripped down farmhouse style home. Again, I like the dark windows against the white of the brick.

 

Mason

 

Here’s another charming “cottage” style home. I love the swooping roofline of the second story. I would be happy in this home!

 

Modern Rustic Renovation

 

Here is a nice contemporary in white brick. Again, I love how the texture and color of the brick softens the hard lines of the architecture.

 

Hickory Residence

 

Here’s a bigger home – love the shutters and the gutters (hey that rhymes!).

 

Brookhaven

 

Here is a lovely formal home. I love the repetition of the planters. The taupe-y color of the trim is pretty with the brick color. It’s a very soothing combo.

 

CLEAN TRADITIONAL

 

 

Here’s another cute house – couldn’t this be a Nora Ephron movie set? I like the soft grayed down blue of the shutters against the white brick. Charming!

 

Urban Building Group: Charlotte, NC

 

And dovecotes again! So pretty. Love the espaliered plants on the front wall. Very pretty house.

 

Trimble Road

 

So, do you think you could take the leap and paint your brick?

 

 

Leave a Reply

